Located south of Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh, the circuit was inaugurated in 2011 and is named in honor of Buddha.
Designed by Hermann Tilke, the circuit has 16 turns and has a capacity of more than 100,000 spectators.
It hosted the first Formula 1 Indian Grand Prix in 2011. However, after 2013, India was removed from the Formula 1 calendar due to various issues including financial and tax controversies.
Although the circuit is currently unused for Formula 1, it remains one of the most modern racing circuits in Asia and has hosted other sporting events including sports car competitions and Moto GP races.
Date Grand Prix L km Pole position Time Win Time Fastest lap Time
30 october 2011India5.125307.249 kmVETTEL Sebastian1'24''178VETTEL Sebastian
1h 30m 35.002sVETTEL Sebastian
28 october 2012India5.125307.249 kmVETTEL Sebastian1'25''283VETTEL Sebastian
1h 31m 10.744sBUTTON Jenson
27 october 2013India5.125307.249 kmVETTEL Sebastian1'24''119VETTEL Sebastian
1h 31m 12.187sRAIKKONEN Kimi